Upside Down

So proud!  Arrived at the campground.  check. Backed the pop-up in the spot without taking out any trees or fellow campers. check.  Spent great evening at the campfire with friends.  check.    Settled into bed in the camper for the night. check.  and then……

The next morning I was laying in the bed wanna be on one side of the camper.  My son was laying in the twin bed on the other side.  My son got up and ran to my side of the camper.  The camper tilted on that end turning my sleeping quarters into an instant slide, dumping my son, the mattress, me and half the items in the camper onto the ground.  As we sat there trying to figure out what end was up and what to do next, I heard a voice asking  “You all ok in there?”  I instantly replied “I’m not sure yet”.  I rolled out of the tangled mess and pulled my son out.  I then went around to the other side and after 15 minutes of tugging, pulling, screaming and half losing my mind in my pajamas, I was able to get the camper righted back.  As I went to the back of the camper and began collecting all our belongings of the ground, I again heard a voice.  This time it said ” You know you have stabilizers on the camper.  If you had put them down, it wouldn’t have tipped”.   I decided to walk to the sound of the voice.  Walking to the other side of the camper (still in my pjs and bare feet) and had to rub my eyes.  For what was in front of me, was a man sitting in an out door rocking chair with coffee cup in hand just a rocking and drinking his coffee!   Seriously, I am rocketed out of my camper with all my camping crap splattered everywhere, then I spend 15 minutes trying to right the camper and this person has been sitting 3 feet away the whole time enjoying his coffee… and the comedy show???   I am speechless.  I turn around to go back to my camper and he has the gall to say, ” I would put the stabilizers down before I went and out of there too many times”.  I turned to face him and without a seconds hesitation I said “No, I don’t want you to miss the 6:00 show- we will be serving popcorn”.

 

Leave a comment